Training

TSAFF will provide monthly online workshops and training. Please see the list below for 2020-21. These 60-minute classes will include a presentation, Q&A, and slides.

There is no cost to participate. Registration is easy. Please send an email request to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. with your name, your Local name, your cell phone number, and the session title. The registration will be confirmed, and a link to join the online Zoom meeting will be provided by email.

  • Update / Q&A with TSAFF President John Riddle and TSAFF DVPs
    Thursday, June 11, 2020, 10 a.m. - 11 a.m.

  • Building Your Political Program 
    Joe Tellez and Glenn Deshields Wednesday, July 15, 2020, 10 a.m. - 11 a.m.

  • COVID-19: What Firefighters Should Know About Workers’ Comp Claims
    Brandon Day / Health and Safety Committee Thursday, July 30, 2020, 9 a.m

  • TSAFF Service: Processing Discipline / Fit-for-Duty Testing at the Local Level
    Rafael Torres Tuesday, August 18, 2020, 10 a.m. - 11 a.m.

  • Preparing for and Managing Your Local’s Crisis
    Erin Powers Wednesday, September 16, 2020, 10 a.m. - 11 a.m

  • Election Preview and Update
    Glenn Deshields, Joe Tellez and Mike Stevens Monday, October 12, 2020, 10 a.m. - 11 a.m.

  • Secretary-Treasurer Workshop: Budgets and Audits
    Brandon Day and Liz Wright Tuesday, November 17, 2020, 10 a.m. - 11 a.m.

  • Legislative Preview
    John Riddle, Glenn Deshields, Joe Tellez and Mike Stevens Tuesday, December 15, 2020, 10 a.m. - 11 a.m.

  • Update / Q&A with TSAFF President John Riddle and TSAFF DVPs
    Thursday, January 7, 2021, 10 a.m. - 11 a.m.

  • Building Your Political Program
    Joe Tellez and Glenn Deshields Friday, February 12, 2021, 10 a.m. - 11 a.m.

  • Five Ways to Raise Your Local’s Profile in the Community
    Erin Powers Thursday, March 18, 2021, 10 a.m. - 11 a.m.

  • 2021 Convention Preview
    John Riddle and Brandon Day Thursday, April 8, 2021, 10 a.m. - 11 a.m.