Who We Are

Our History

The Texas State Association of Fire Fighters was established in 1938 and it is Texas’s only professional, career firefighters organization, representing over 18,000 fire fighter members and 192 affiliate locals. We are affiliated with the International Association of Fire Fighters (IAFF).

Our Objectives

“The objectives of this Association shall be to unify Texas Professional Fire Fighters, to promote their interest, to pass legislation in their behalf, defeat legislation harmful to them, to provide necessary services to member locals and to establish the right of every Texas Professional Fire Fighter to bargain collectively and work under a contract.”

Our Operations

Every two years, delegates from over 192 locals in Texas meet at a convention to decide the goals and objectives and to elect officers of the TSAFF for the following two years. Members submit resolutions to change the constitution and by-laws or policies of the TSAFF. These ideas are debated and then voted on. The officers of the TSAFF include President John Riddle, Secretary/Treasurer Brandon Day, District 1 VP Bobby Whiteley, District 2 VP Beau Simpson, District 3 VP Aidan Alvarado, District 4 VP Mark Medrano, District 5 VP Pete Martinez, District 6 VP Marty Lancton and three Trustees, Zone A Trustee Michael Glynn, Zone B Trustee Bill Crews and Zone C Trustee Mike Silva. These individuals direct and oversee the operation of the TSAFF between conventions. In addition to the members of the executive board, many other individuals provide services to assist the TSAFF in accomplishing its objectives. Legal Counsel is provided by B. Craig Deats, our Service Director is Rafael Torres, our Assistant to the Secretary/Treasurer is Liz Wright and our Office Administrative Assistant is Cindy Gonzales.

If you have any questions or just want to give us feedback, please feel free to contact us.